Solar Belt Convention Proclaims Precision Volleyball Awards and Voting


new Orleans – The Solar Belt Convention on Tuesday introduced its 2022 Precision All-Solar Belt group, particular person awards and preseason polls for volleyball. The honors have been voted on and voted on by the league’s 14 head coaches.

Texas State outdoors hitter Janelle Fitzgerald was chosen because the Solar Belt Precision Offensive Participant of the Yr, whereas her teammate Emily DeWalt was chosen because the Solar Belt Precision Setter of the Yr. South Alabama’s Nikki Capizzi was named the Solar Belt Precision Defensive Participant of the Yr and her teammate Rachel Hickey was named the Precision Libero of the Yr.


Within the Precision Coaches Ballot, South Alabama was chosen as the favourite within the Solar Belt West Division. The eight first-place Jaguars claimed the Solar Belt Convention regular-season and match championships previous to the occasion final season. South Alabama, which made its first NCAA Event look in 2021, completed with a 25-7 report on mixture and 15-1 factors in SBC play.

Coastal Carolina and James Madison have been chosen to high the Solar Belt East Division. The chanterelles took seven firsts and the dukes took six. Coastal Carolina completed second within the East Division final season with a 12-4 league mark and an total tally of 19-9, reaching the semifinals of the Solar Belt Convention match. James Maddison, competing in his first season on the Solar Belt in 2022, completed 17-7 and 11-5 on mixture within the Colonial Athletic Affiliation final yr.

Fitzgerald, the 2021 Solar Belt Offensive Participant of the Yr, was additionally an All-Solar Belt first-team choice a yr in the past. He acquired an AVCA All-Southwest Area Honorable Point out final season. Fitzgerald was fifth within the Solar Belt final season with a median of three.24 kills per set, together with solely main the league in convention matches with 4.06 kills per set. She was one among solely two gamers within the Solar Belt who averaged 4 or extra kills per set in SBC play. His per-set common of three.72 factors for the season completed fourth within the Solar Belt. Fitzgerald posted doubles in 19 of 12 matches towards Solar Belt foes.

Capizzi was third within the solar belt in complete blocks (111) final season and fourth in blocks per set (1.03). In league matches solely, she completed fifth in blocks per set (1.13) and fifth in complete blocks (63). Capizzi was chosen for the 2021 Solar Belt All-Event Crew.

DeWalt, a four-time Solar Belt Convention Setter of the Yr and 2021 Solar Belt Participant of the Yr, is a four-time AVCA Southwest All-Area Choice and a four-time All-America Honorable Point out. She enters the 2022 season, making 190 assists simply shy of 5,000 for her profession. DeWalt continues to be sixth in Solar Belt Convention historical past by way of profession assist. Final season, she led the Solar Belts in assists per set with 11.09 and topped the league in conference-matches with solely 12.00 assists per set. DeWalt made 40 or extra assists and 11 double-doubles in 10 matches all through the 2021 season.

Hickey performed all 32 matches for the Jaguars final season. She completed third within the Solar Belt Convention in Digs (524) and fourth in Digs Per Set (4.52). In convention matches solely, she was ranked fifth within the league in service aces (20), digs per set (4.45), fifth in service aces per set (0.36) and sixth in complete digs (249).

The 2022 Solar Belt Convention Volleyball Event will happen November 16-20 in Foley, Ala. It will mark the third consecutive yr that the occasion can be contested on the Foley Sports activities Tourism Complicated.

2022 Solar Belt Convention Volleyball Awards

Precision Offensive Participant of the Yr:
Janelle Fitzgerald, State of Texas (OH, 6-1, Gr., Mansfield, Texas)

Precision Defensive Participant of the Yr:
Nikki Capizzi, South Alabama (MB, 6-3, Jr., Huntington Seashore, Calif.)

Precision Setter of the Yr:
Emily DeWalt, State of Texas (S, 5-10, Gr., Helots, Texas)

Precision Libero of the Yr:
Rachel Hickey, South Alabama (L, 5-4, Sr., Mishawaka, Ind.)

Precision All-Solar Belt
Emily DeWalt, State of Texas (S, 5-10, Gr., Helots, Texas)
Janelle Fitzgerald, State of Texas (OH, 6-1, Gr., Mansfield, Texas)
Julia Brooks, Troy (MB, 6-1, Jr., St. Louis, Mo.)
Cali Keeble, South Alabama (S, 5-8, Jr., Maryville, Tenn.)
Kelsey Bennett, Louisiana (OH, 6-0, Sr., Allen, Texas)
Jada Gardner, State of Texas (OH, 6-1, GR, Cibolo, Texas)
Miette Veldman, James Madison (OH, 5-10, Jr., Delville, Va.)
Sophia Davis, James Madison (MB, 6-1, Sr., Fort Lauderdale, Fla.)
Baylor Bumford, Georgia Southern (MB/RS, 5-11, Gr., Winter Backyard, Fla.)
Coco Gillette, Louisiana (OH, 5-10, So., Bryan, Texas)
Massey Putt, Arkansas State (OH, 6-0, Gr., Ozark, Mo.)
Nikki Capizzi, South Alabama (MB, 6-3, Jr., Huntington Seashore, Calif.)
Maddie Sobolesky, South Alabama (S, 6-0, R-Jr., Erie, Pa.)

*do not break ties

2022 Solar Belt Convention Precision Volleyball Coach Pole

East Division
Coastal Carolina – 90 (7)
James Madison – 90 (6)
Georgia Southern – 67 (1)
Marshall – 49
Outdated Dominion – 39
Georgia State – 31
App State – 26

West Division
South Alabama – 92 (8)
Texas State – 88 (5)
Troy – 63
Louisiana – 61 (1)
Arkansas State – 39
Southern Miss – 31
ULM – 18


Supply hyperlink